The Samuel C Fertig House, renamed Knoll House in 1971 by its then owner, Mrs. Virginia Steele Scott, was originally built in 1916 and designed by preeminent architect Myron Hunt. Initially sited on five contiguous lots totaling 10.3 acres, the primary two-story, sixteen-room residence, was later expanded by another leading architect of the time, Gordon B Kaufmann. To ensure consistency, Peter Hall acted as the contractor for both builds. The property, already architecturally significant for the main Residence, rose to unparalleled prominence in 1973 with the addition of the Virginia Steele Scott Gallery by modernist architects Ladd & Kelsey, who had just designed the new Pasadena Art Museum (Norton Simon Museum), of which Mrs. Steele was a significant donor. The structure, intended to showcase Mrs. Steele's extensive art collection, was, from its inception, much more than a gallery. Encompassing over 21,000 square feet on three levels, it contained multiple living spaces, fireplaces, elevators, restrooms, and circular staircases; kitchen; offices and multi-use spaces. Today, along with the Residence, the Gallery's use and versatility far surpasses these original functions. Over the course of seven years, the two main structures totaling 35,000 square feet of living space were updated and restored preserving the 100+ year-old craftsmanship and materials used by Mr. Hunt and Mr. Kaufmann, while providing commercial grade systems throughout the property. Now spread over 2.5 landscaped and gated acres, both structures have been repurposed to provide the highest level of lifestyle, entertaining and at-home work conveniences for today's ever-changing environment. Together, the living spaces afford a lifestyle unmatched by any property in Southern California.